Alexandra

Book reviews

1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
B.Z..svg.png
der-spiegel-logo.jpg
Lübecker_Nachrichten_Logo.svg.png

"This enigmatic book reveals and honors the life of a woman with iron-clad ambitions to become a world star."

"(...) a short but moving life story."

"(...) a document of admiration."

"The fact that Boettcher does not stiffen on far-fetched theses, but skilfully juxtaposes facts and speculation, makes this so far only biography of the successful singer an interesting read. With a sensitive hand, the author draws on Alexandra's youth and her meteoric rise to the world of show business for his book, thereby also documenting a piece of unforgotten pop history."

kjo_5886989875_Original_EPG-DB.JPEG
v13459.png
brisant-9172_v-variantBig16x9_wm-true_zc
livestreamteaserbild102_v-contentxl.jpg

"Thanks to the biography, Alexandra moves out of the shadows. What's remarkable about this book is how it links the biographical text with authentic quotes, original song lyrics, and photographs."

"Alexandra was somehow divine. Her melancholy songs, her stellar career and mysterious death provide enough material for a German legend."

"Such a voice with such a strong charisma has no longer existed in the German Schlager. In this biography not only beautiful memories come back. Alexandra's life and death were quite different from what good friends want to admit. (...) It is in the hands of the public prosecutor's office in Schleswig to reopen the Alexandra case."

"Almost 30 years after her death, an image emerges that no one knew. Her person was full of contradictions and obstinacy, but somehow gifted. (...) She survived as a legend, because her voice suggests that longing is stronger than death."

Reviews of the film

1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
Schleswiger_Nachrichten_Logo-300x148.jpg
4111q8+JnvL.png
24087490-frankfurter-rundschau-2uOLkF2DX
2000px-TV-Spielfilm-Logo.svg.png
hamburger_abendblatt.jpg

"Marc Boettcher, Berlin filmmaker, has written a wonderful book about Alexandra. His film is even better. Boettcher has produced one of the most exciting features about one of the most important chanteuses of post-war Germany."

"Superbly researched. A TV portrait could hardly be more entertaining, exciting and informative. Repeat the film in prime time!"

"Boettcher has extensively collected material and made people talk in such a way that they may not have realized how much they revealed themselves to be career-minded and money-addicted managers of the shallow muse. Worth seeing!"

"Very neat and mannerly made film biography, which comes up with rare and partly curious archive footage. A worthwhile late-night program for Schlager fans and nostalgics."

"Marc Boettcher's first "long" documentary: a direct hit! Excitingly, the journalist sketches the life of the chanson hope of the 60-ies, Alexandra. As his team uncovers new aspects surrounding her mysterious death, they are anonymously threatened."

"Psychogram and critical dossier of hits. Tightly mounted. Captivating!"

Alexandra

Rezensionen zum Buch

1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
B.Z..svg.png
der-spiegel-logo.jpg
Lübecker_Nachrichten_Logo.svg.png

„Dieses hintergründige Buch enthüllt und würdigt das Leben einer Frau mit eisenharten Ambitionen, ein Weltstar zu werden."

„(...) eine kurze, aber bewegende Lebensgeschichte." 

„(...) ein Dokument der Bewunderung."

„Daß sich Boettcher nicht auf weit hergeholte Thesen versteift, sondern Fakten und Spekulation gekonnt gegenüberstellt, macht diese bislang einzige Biographie der erfolgreichen Sängerin zum interessanten Lesestoff. Mit sensibler Hand zieht der Autor Alexandras Jugend und ihren kometenhaften Aufstieg in die Welt des Showbusiness für sein Buch heran und dokumentiert damit auch ein Stück unvergessener Schlagergeschichte."

kjo_5886989875_Original_EPG-DB.JPEG
v13459.png
brisant-9172_v-variantBig16x9_wm-true_zc
livestreamteaserbild102_v-contentxl.jpg

„Dank der Biographie rückt Alexandra aus dem Schatten. Das Bemerkenswerte an diesem Buch ist die Verknüpfung des biographischen Textes mit authentischen Zitaten, originalen Liedtexten und Fotos."

„Alexandra war irgendwie göttlich. Ihre melancholischen Lieder, ihre steile Karriere und der mysteriöse Tod geben genügend Stoff für eine deutsche Legende."

„Eine solche Stimme mit einer so starken Ausstrahlung hat es im deutschen Schlager nicht mehr gegeben. In dieser Biographie kommen nicht nur schöne Erinnerungen zurück. Leben und Sterben von Alexandra waren ganz anders als gute Freunde wahrhaben wollen. (...) Es liegt in den Händen der Staatsanwaltschaft in Schleswig, den Fall Alexandra wiederaufzunehmen"

„Fast 30 Jahre nach ihrem Tod entsteht ein Bild, das niemand kannte. Ihre Person war voller Widersprüche und Eigensinn, aber irgendwie begnadet. (...) Sie überlebte als Legende, denn ihre Stimme läßt ahnen, die Sehnsucht ist stärker als der Tod." 

Rezensionen zum Film

1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
Schleswiger_Nachrichten_Logo-300x148.jpg
4111q8+JnvL.png
24087490-frankfurter-rundschau-2uOLkF2DX
2000px-TV-Spielfilm-Logo.svg.png
hamburger_abendblatt.jpg

„Marc Boettcher, Berliner Filmemacher, hat über Alexandra ein wunderbares Buch geschrieben. Sein Film ist noch besser. Boettcher hat einen der spannendsten Beiträge über eine der wichtigsten Chanteusen der deutschen Nachkriegszeit produziert."

„Hervorragend recherchiert. Unterhaltsamer, spannender und informativer kann ein TV-Porträt kaum sein. Wiederholt den Film zur Hauptsendezeit!"

„Boettcher hat ausgiebig Material gesammelt und Menschen so zum Reden gebracht, daß die womöglich gar nicht bemerkt haben, wie sehr sie sich selbst als karrieregeile und geldsüchtige Manager der seichten Muse offenbarten. Sehenswert!"

„Sehr ordentlich und manierlich gemachte Filmbiographie, die mit raren und teils kuriosen Archivaufnahmen aufwarten kann. Ein lohnendes Spätprogramm für Schlagerfreunde und Nostalgiker."

„Marc Boettchers erste „lange" Doku: ein Volltreffer! Spannend skizziert der Journalist das Leben der Chanson-Hoffnung der 60-er, Alexandra. Als sein Team neue Aspekte um ihren mysteriösen Tod aufdeckt, wird es anonym bedroht."

„Psychogramm und kritisches Schlager-Dossier. Dicht montiert. Fesselnd!"