Reviews of the film

Bert Kaempfert

Infomedia-FKSH_Logo_mit_Text-500hoehe-we

"Boettcher's film adaptation of his book of the same name entertainingly traces the ups and downs of this thoroughbred musician's career with the help of old Kaempfert interviews, many conversations with family members, friends and colleagues. From these stories, the numerous old film and television recordings and Kaempfert's still very catchy music, a colorful musical picture book emerges that entertains surprisingly well even for two hours."

Lübecker_Nachrichten_Logo.svg.png
4111q8+JnvL.png
24087490-frankfurter-rundschau-2uOLkF2DX
1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
Deutschlandradio_Logo_2017.svg.png
2000px-TV-Spielfilm-Logo.svg.png

"120 minutes for a documentary is a long time. Marc Boettcher's "Bert Kaempfert Story" is nevertheless not boring for a second. And that's not just because Bert Kaempfert's life was so exciting. The story of the little Hamburg man who became a world star has to be told in great detail. Marc Boettcher not only delved into the depths of the archives, he also let Kaempfert's contemporaries and companions have their say. He has incorporated cine films from the possession of Bert Kaempfert's daughters into his film; these images, as well as a BBC interview, have never been seen in public before. It took a lot of persuasion for Boettcher to get hold of these film images, but the effort was worth it. Bert Kaempfert's life story is also a piece of contemporary and cultural history, which also becomes clear in the film."

"Decent, light-handed and with a loving eye for detail!"

"Detailed documentary film with a lot of archive material. - Boettcher not only tells the life of Kaempfert, but unfolds a historical and cultural-historical panorama. He does this with great, almost encyclopedic care. - At the same time, one gains many private insights and witnesses how Kaempfert's Continental Sound conquers the world from Hamburg."

"Not only for nostalgics and harmony researchers a swell reason to spend Saturday evening at home."

"Not just for nostalgics and harmony researchers, this is a great reason to spend Saturday night at home."

"Marc Boettcher's affectionate documentary pays tribute to the legend of swing and "easy listening" as factual as it is anecdotal. - He charts a highly entertaining arc over nearly six decades."

1158572539.jpg

"Boettcher's insightful portrait not only paints a picture of the brilliant composer and arranger, who died of a cerebral stroke at only 56, but also a cultural history of his time - from the Golden '20s, with its interest in all things exotic, to the wartime Kaempfert spent in a music corps, to the '60s and '70s, when the shy German's tunes took the U.S. by storm."

DDP.png

"With this very detailed documentary, author Marc Boettcher now also presents Kaempfert's cinematic biography almost exactly one year after the publication of his book about him. - On the one hand, the documentary traces Berthold Kaempfert's life, but Boettcher also sheds light on the difficulties Kaempfert had, especially at the end of the 1950s and in the 1960s, in the area of conflict between his conventional German record company Polydor and his breathtaking recognition in the USA. - "Fips" - the film also shows this impressively - shaped an era and a musical style with his "Kaempfert sound," his swing and easy listening - and yet remained modest, reserved and often introverted. As one of the few German world stars who also gained an unrestricted foothold in the U.S., he created some 400 compositions and more than 750 arrangements. The blow is all the greater when he dies suddenly of a cerebral stroke on Mallorca on June 21, 1980. And the film ends symbolically: "Fips" at the piano, playing "Strangers In The Night.""

fazlogo_home.png

"Marc Boettcher, best identified by his Kaempfert biography (F.A.Z. of Dec. 3, 2002), drew a multifaceted, cinematically perhaps a little too long portrait of this important, widely unknown bandleader, who as such was so un-German that he was even appreciated in America and England."

Book reviews

unnamed.jpg
Swinghamburg.png

"Boettcher's book is a must-read for music lovers!"

"In this intensively researched book, which is well worth reading, Marc Boettcher has presented a remarkable study, not without considerable resistance from those involved in the Bert Kaempfert story. To be recommended to all music lovers!"

LogoGoodTimes.gif

"Author Marc Boettcher, known for his excellent TV documentary about the singer Alexandra, describes in detail (but never dryly) and in a pleasantly unspectacular way the professional and private life of the great, always reserved orchestra leader and arranger. The mixture is successful all around. (...) This is the long overdue, informative-entertaining reappraisal of a piece of German music history at world level - with glimpses behind the Hanseatic scenes without clumsy voyeurism."

fazlogo_home.png

"Marc Boettcher's biography, now published, is also to be welcomed because it recalls the life and work of a man who did more for the reputation of upscale light music in this country than many a far more popular bandleader. Basically, Boettcher's book is a stimulating background history that not only introduces the pleasantly unpretentious person Bert Kaempfert, but also offers a little cultural history of the postwar period."

30777357st.jpg

"A sound made in Germany conquered the world at the beginning of the sixties: the Bert Kaempfert sound. (...) In Marc Boettcher's book, one learns a lot about this time, in which Kaempfert shuttled back and forth between Hamburg and New York, between Polydor and Milt Gabler's Decca Records. And so this book can also be read as a chapter on German-American light music history marked by many animosities."

dpa logo.png

"In the process, the reader and Kaempfert fan learns many sympathetic details from the musician's life. But Boettcher does not conceal in the book the price of fame that Kaempfert and his family had to pay, the struggles, intrigues and jealousies of the music business, his years-long legal battle for the copyrights to Strangers In The Night."

der-spiegel-logo.jpg

"Written in a loosely chatty reporter's tone, Boettcher fans out a host of facts, anecdotes, and quotes that profile Bert Kaempfert the man and his social background from a variety of angles. Stranger In The Night offers an entertaining and detailed picture not only of Kaempfert, but also of pop history over the past 50 years. With some 400 compositions to his credit, Bert Kaempfert made a handsome contribution and, at the time of his death at only 56, had already secured a place in the pop Olympus."

Rezensionen zum Film

Bert Kaempfert

Infomedia-FKSH_Logo_mit_Text-500hoehe-we

„Boettchers Verfilmung seines gleichnamigen Buches zeichnet das Auf und Ab der Karriere dieses Vollblutmusikers mit Hilfe von alten Kaempfert-Interviews, vielen Gesprächen mit Familienangehörigen, Freunden und Kollegen unterhaltsam nach. Aus diesen Erzählungen, den zahlreichen alten Film- und Fernsehaufnahmen und Kaempferts immer noch sehr eingängigen Musik entsteht ein buntes musikalisches Bilderbuch, das erstaunlich gut auch zwei Stunden lang unterhält."

Lübecker_Nachrichten_Logo.svg.png
4111q8+JnvL.png
24087490-frankfurter-rundschau-2uOLkF2DX
1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png
Deutschlandradio_Logo_2017.svg.png
2000px-TV-Spielfilm-Logo.svg.png

120 Minuten für eine Dokumentation ist eine lange Zeit. Marc Boettchers „Bert Kaempfert Story" ist dennoch keine Sekunde langweilig. Und das liegt nicht nur daran, dass Bert Kaempferts Leben so spannend war. Die Geschichte des kleinen Hamburgers, der zum Weltstar wurde, muss in vielen Einzelheiten erzählt werden. Marc Boettcher ist dazu nicht nur in die Tiefen der Archive gestiegen, er lässt ausführlich Zeitzeugen und Weggefährten Kaempferts zu Wort kommen. Schmalfilme aus dem Besitz der Töchter Bert Kaempferts hat er in seinen Film eingebaut, diese Bilder waren ebenso wie ein BBC-Interview noch nie öffentlich zu sehen. Boettcher kostete es viel Überredungskunst, an diese Filmbilder zu gelangen, der Aufwand hat sich gelohnt. Bert Kaempferts Lebensgeschichte ist auch ein Stück Zeit- und Kulturgeschichte, das wird ebenfalls in dem Film deutlich."

„Dezent, leichthändig und mit dem liebevollen Blick fürs Detail!“

„Ausführlicher, mit viel Archivmaterial unterfütterter Dokumentarfilm. - Boettcher erzählt nicht nur das Leben Kaempferts, sondern entfaltet ein historisches und kulturgeschichtliches Panorama. Er macht das mit großer, nahezu enzyklopädischer Sorgfalt. - Gleichwohl erhält man viele private Einblicke und wird Zeuge, wie Kaempferts Continental-Sound von Hamburg aus die Welt erobert."

„Nicht nur für Nostalgiker und Harmonieforscher ein prima Grund, den Samstagabend zu Hause zu verbringen."

„Nicht nur für Nostalgiker und Harmonieforscher ein prima Grund, den Samstagabend zu Hause zu verbringen."

„Marc Boettcher würdigt in seiner liebevollen Dokumentation die Legende des Swings und "Easy Listening" so fakten- wie anekdotenreich. - Er schlägt einen höchst unterhaltsamen Bogen über fast sechs Jahrzehnte."

1158572539.jpg

„Boettchers einfühlsames Porträt zeichnet nicht nur ein Bild des genialen Komponisten und Arrangeurs, der mit nur 56 Jahren an einem Gehirnschlag starb, sondern auch eine Kulturgeschichte seiner Zeit - von den Goldenen 20ern mit ihrem Interesse für alles Exotische über die Kriegszeit, die Kaempfert in einem Musikkorps verbrachte, bis zu den 60er und 70er Jahren, in denen die Melodien des schüchternen Deutschen die USA im Sturm eroberten."

DDP.png

„Mit der sehr detailreich gestalteten Doku legt Autor Marc Boettcher fast genau ein Jahr nach dem Erscheinen seines Buches über Kaempfert nun auch dessen filmische Biographie vor. - Die Dokumentation zeichnet einerseits den Lebensweg Berthold Kaempferts nach, Boettcher beleuchtet aber auch die Schwierigkeiten, die Kaempfert vor allem Ende der 50er und in den 60er Jahren im Spannungsfeld zwischen seiner konventionellen deutschen Plattenfirma Polydor und seiner atemberaubenden Anerkennung in den USA hatte. - „Fips" - auch das zeigt der Film eindrucksvoll - hat mit seinem „Kaempfert-Sound", seinem Swing und Easy Listening eine Ära und einen Musikstil geprägt - und blieb dabei doch bescheiden, zurückhaltend und oft in sich gekehrt. Als einer der wenigen deutschen Weltstars, die uneingeschränkt auch in den USA Fuß fassten, schuf er etwa 400 Kompositionen und mehr als 750 Arrangements. Umso größer ist der Schlag, als er am 21. Juni 1980 plötzlich an einem Gehirnschlag auf Mallorca stirbt. Und der Film endet symbolisch: „Fips" am Klavier, „Strangers In The Night" spielend."

fazlogo_home.png

„Marc Boettcher, durch seine Kaempfert-Biographie bestens ausgewiesen (F.A.Z. vom 3.12.2002), zeichnete ein facettenreiches, filmisch vielleicht ein wenig zu langes Porträt dieses wichtigen, weithin unbekannten Bandleaders, der als solcher so undeutsch war, dass man ihn sogar in Amerika und England schätzte."

Rezensionen zum Buch

unnamed.jpg
Swinghamburg.png

„Boettchers Buch ist ein Muss für Musikfreunde!"

„In diesem intensiv recherchierten und lesenswerten Buch hat Marc Boettcher, nicht ohne erheblichen Widerstand der an der Bert-Kaempfert-Story Beteiligten, eine bemerkenswerte Studie vorgelegt. Allen Musikfreunden zu empfehlen!"

LogoGoodTimes.gif

„Autor Marc Boettcher, bekannt durch seine exzellente TV-Dokumentation über die Sängerin Alexandra, schildert detailliert (aber niemals trocken) und angenehm unspektakulär Berufliches und Privates des großen, stets zurückhaltenden Orchesterchefs und Arrangeurs. Die Mischung ist rundum gelungen. (...) Dies ist die längst überfällige, informativ-unterhaltsame Aufarbeitung eines Stückes deutscher Musikgeschichte auf Weltniveau – mit Blicken hinter die hanseatischen Kulissen ohne plumpen Voyeurismus."

fazlogo_home.png

„Die jetzt erschienene Biographie von Marc Boettcher ist auch deshalb zu begrüßen, weil sie das Leben und die Arbeit eines Mannes in Erinnerung ruft, der mehr für das Ansehen der gehobenen Unterhaltungsmusik hierzulande getan hat als mancher weitaus populärer gewordene Bandleader. Im Grunde ist Boettchers Buch eine anregende Hintergrundgeschichte, die nicht nur die angenehm unprätentiöse Person Bert Kaempfert vorstellt, sondern auch eine kleine Kulturgeschichte der Nachkriegszeit bietet."

30777357st.jpg

„Ein Sound made in Germany eroberte Anfang der Sixties die Welt: der Bert-Kaempfert-Sound. (...) In Marc Boettchers Buch erfährt man sehr viel über diese Zeit, in der Kaempfert zwischen Hamburg und New York hin und her pendelte, zwischen der Polydor und Milt Gablers Decca Records. Und so ist dieses Buch auch zu lesen als ein von vielen Animositäten geprägtes Kapitel zur deutsch-amerikanischen Unterhaltungsmusikgeschichte."

dpa logo.png

„Dabei erfährt der Leser und Kaempfert-Fan viele sympathische Details aus dem Leben des Musikers. Doch Boettcher verschweigt in dem Buch nicht den Preis des Ruhms, den Kaempfert und seine Familie bezahlen mussten, die Kämpfe, Intrigen und Eifersüchteleien des Musikgeschäfts, sein jahrelanger Rechtsstreit um die Urheberrechte an Strangers In The Night."

der-spiegel-logo.jpg

„Verfasst im locker plaudernden Reporterton, fächert Boettcher eine Menge Fakten, Anekdoten und Zitate auf, die aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln dem Menschen Bert Kaempfert und seinem sozialen Hintergrund Profil geben. Stranger In The Night bietet ein unterhaltsames und detailliertes Bild nicht nur Kaempferts, sondern auch der Popgeschichte der letzten 50 Jahre. Mit rund 400 Kompositionen hat Bert Kaempfert einen ansehnlichen Teil dazu beigetragen und sich zum Zeitpunkt seines Todes mit nur 56 Jahren bereits einen Platz im Pop-Olymp gesichert."