thumb2-black-background-circular-gradien

Bert Kaempfert

Reviews

"Boettcher's book is a must for music lovers!" (Westfälischer Anzeiger)

"In this intensively researched book, which is well worth reading, Marc Boettcher has presented a remarkable study, not without considerable resistance from those involved in the Bert Kaempfert story. To be recommended to all music lovers!"

(Swinging Hamburg Journal)

"All around successful. (...) This is the long overdue, informative-entertaining reappraisal of a piece of world-class German music history without heavy-handed voyeurism." (Good Times)

"A chapter on German-American light music history marked by many animosities." (Jazz-Zeitung)

"Written in a loosely chatty reporter's tone, Boettcher fans out a host of facts, anecdotes and quotes that profile Bert Kaempfert the man and his social background from a variety of angles. Stranger In The Night offers an entertaining and detailed picture not only of Kaempfert, but also of pop history over the past 50 years." (Der Spiegel)

"Boettcher knows how to walk the difficult tightrope between illustrated keyhole perspective and the detailed account expected in the context of a biography without damage and thus works in the sense of the portrayed, who has always avoided spreading his private life on the questionable level of the illustrated. A biography with depth!" (m-Hit-service)

thumb2-black-background-circular-gradien

Bert Kaempfert

Rezensionen

„Boettchers Buch ist ein Muss für Musikfreunde!" (Westfälischer Anzeiger)

„In diesem intensiv recherchierten und lesenswerten Buch hat Marc Boettcher, nicht ohne erheblichen Widerstand der an der Bert-Kaempfert-Story Beteiligten, eine bemerkenswerte Studie vorgelegt. Allen Musikfreunden zu empfehlen!" (Swinging Hamburg Journal)

„Rundum gelungen. (...) Dies ist die längst überfällige, informativ-unterhaltsame Aufarbeitung eines Stückes deutscher Musikgeschichte auf Weltniveau ohne plumpen Voyeurismus." (Good Times)

„Ein von vielen Animositäten geprägtes Kapitel zur deutsch-amerikanischen Unterhaltungsmusikgeschichte." (Jazz-Zeitung)

„Verfasst im locker plaudernden Reporterton, fächert Boettcher eine Menge Fakten, Anekdoten und Zitate auf, die aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln dem Menschen Bert Kaempfert und seinem sozialen Hintergrund Profil geben. Stranger In The Night bietet ein unterhaltsames und detailliertes Bild nicht nur Kaempferts, sondern auch der Popgeschichte der letzten 50 Jahre." (Der Spiegel)

„Boettcher versteht es, die schwierige Gratwanderung zwischen Illustrierten-Schlüsselloch-Perspektive und der im Rahmen einer Biographie erwarteten Detailschilderung unbeschadet zu absolvieren und arbeitet so im Sinne des Portraitierten, der es stets vermieden hat, sein Privatleben auf dem fragwürdigen Niveau der Illustrierten auszubreiten. Eine Biographie mit Tiefgang!" (m-Hit-service)