Gitte Haenning

Reviews of the film

1200px-Taz_Logo.svg.png

"Don't miss it! - You don't have to be a fan to enjoy Boettcher's two-hour film. The director succeeds, thanks in part to refreshing use of split screen, in creating a dynamic trip through nearly half a century of German pop culture history."

Lübecker_Nachrichten_Logo.svg.png

In the ladies' room at the Stadthalle, shortly after the film about Gitte Haenning: two women wipe their tears. "That was so great. It brought back so many memories," says one of them. Suddenly, Gitte Haenning is standing in front of the mirror, and she too has to fix her makeup. Because she, too, had tears in her eyes when she first saw the film "Ich will alles - die Gitte Haenning Story" in Lübeck. "Director Marc Boettcher did a great job," says the petite singer, who had come to the film screening all in camouflage. What's it like to see yourself as a picture-perfect young woman on screen? "Oh, not easy. But that's the way it is," she says, shrugging her shoulders and rushing off to the next press appointment.

 

Gitte Haenning. We know that the Dane also makes jazz, but still stick to her the cowboy she would like to have as a husband, all the hits with Rex Gildo and finally the strong-woman songs like "Ich will alles" and "Jetzt erst recht". In the two-hour documentary it becomes clear how versatile Gitte Haenning was in more than five decades, after she was already made a child star by her father at the age of eight. Whenever she was at the top, she reinvented herself: recorded records with jazz greats, acted in films, danced in musicals. The way she sings "Stormy Weather" at the tender age of 15 - it gives you goosebumps. Director Marc Boettcher ("The Bert Kaempfert Story") succeeds in creating a differentiated view of the artist's life by mixing current statements with older Gitte interviews and statements from parents, her sister, ex-friends and colleagues. At 80, Gitte told a friend, she wants to sit at the bar with a glass of whiskey in her hand and sing "Stormy Weather". Too bad you have to wait another 20 years for that."

A touching film about the more than 50-year career of the changeable artist. At the end, there were tears in Gitte's eyes: "Great job."

OMM.gif

"Marc Boettcher clearly has a knack for film biographies of stars in the music industry, as he impressively proved with his film "Strangers in the Night" about Bert Kaempfert, which we have already presented to you. Last year, Boettcher presented "Ich will alles", the intimate biography of an extraordinary singer: Gitte Hænning. The characterful, beautiful and outrageously talented woman from the Danish town of Århus allowed the sensitive director a glimpse of the dangerous roller coaster of an eventful, turbulent career and her dramatic life with all its ups and downs - and Marc Boettcher drew a sympathetically honest picture of Gitte Hænning. In several interviews made for this film and compiled from earlier television productions, the artist, now 62 years old, family members, friends and colleagues express themselves very openly on both sides of the shimmering coin. Marc Boettcher unsparingly shows the predominantly dark, oppressive side, despite all the apparent glamour. However, the woman, whose life is carefully reappraised here, wins out in the process. Very quickly it becomes clear that Gitte Hænning's real talent was never allowed to unfold, her late energetic assertion remained contractually half-hearted: it is and always was jazz that was her true strength. Taken in by the German pop business because of her youthful freshness and forced to sing countless awful tralala songs and marketed below value, what she was really capable of remained unpromoted.

Early and rare Danish recordings of TV shows, film clips and original soundtracks of her early years prove with "Stormy Weather", "Night and Day" and "Basin Street Blues", among others, what was in her: a jazz singer of international stature. Her relationship with the world-class Danish bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, which lasted several years, nurtured her inclination towards jazz. Later recordings with the Kenny Clarke/Francy Boland Big Band, with whom she was lured back into a German contract, also attest to her jazz talent. The Danish child star time of the 50s and the German Schlager time with, among others, Rex Gildo as a "dream partner" in the 60s were followed by a career break at the beginning of the 70s. With a change of direction to chanson, the energetic singer managed to regain her old popularity and earlier successes in the 80s. The collaboration with Andrew Lloyd Webber gave new impetus. 

After failed marriages and partnerships, professional failures, unsteady life with residences in Copenhagen, Munich, Rome, Berlin, among others, late a Golden Camera and a Golden Record rewarded her iron will not to give up, to find her own way."

Berlingske-logo.png

"...Even though the Nordic Film Days is a decidedly serious event, it cannot be denied that the visit of the extremely popular Gitte Hænning is a glamorous highlight and the cinema hall is filled to bursting point. The good-humored audience also gets their money's worth, because Marc Boettcher's nearly two-hour film, with the help of numerous interviews and excerpts from old documentaries, presents a simultaneously dynamic and multifaceted picture of the singer, who had her breakthrough as early as 1954 and became a child star. (...) Today, one could wish that Gitte had sung less German Schlager and more jazz over the years, because the film reminds us what an outstanding singer she actually is - for example, in a scene in which she is accompanied on the piano by Andrew Lloyd Webber himself."

 

""Ich will Alles" reveals that Gitte Hænning used to have a relationship with the now deceased bassist Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, and in general this entertaining film, which does not just uncritically praise its main character but shows both her positive and negative sides, combines the private with the professional. She herself has no problem with this at all, and when she was honored with a long standing ovation after the world premiere in Lübeck, she was moved to tears."

Tagesspiegel-Logo.jpg

"The best thing about "I Want Everything" are the scenes from movies and TV shows that Boettcher has dug up. There, Gitte sings "My World Is Music," and you see what a great jazz performer she could have become."

Gitte Haenning

Rezensionen zum Film

„Nicht verpassen! - Man muss kein Fan sein, um an Boettchers zweistündigem Film Gefallen zu finden. Dem Regisseur gelingt, auch dank erfrischenden Splitscreen-Einsatzes, ein dynamischer Trip durch fast ein halbes Jahrhundert deutscher Popkulturgeschichte.“

In der Damentoilette der Stadthalle, kurz nach dem Film über Gitte Haenning: Zwei Frauen wischen sich die Tränen ab. "Das war so toll. Da kamen so viele Erinnerungen hoch", sagt die eine. Plötzlich steht Gitte Haenning vorm Spiegel, auch sie muss ihr Make up richten. Denn auch ihr standen Tränen in den Augen, als sie in Lübeck zum ersten Mal den Film "Ich will alles - die Gitte Haenning Story" gesehen hatte. "Regisseur Marc Boettcher hat eine großartige Arbeit gemacht", sagt die zierliche Sängerin, die zur Filmaufführung ganz in Tarnfarben gekommen war. Wie ist das, wenn man sich als bildhübsche junge Frau auf der Leinwand sieht? "Ach, nicht leicht. Aber so ist es eben", sagt sie, zuckt die Schultern und rauscht zum nächsten Pressetermin.

 

Gitte Haenning. Man weiß zwar, dass die Dänin auch Jazz macht, aber trotzdem kleben an ihr der Cowboy, den sie gern zum Mann hätte, all die Schlager mit Rex Gildo und zum Schluss die Starke- Frauen-Songs wie "Ich will alles" und "Jetzt erst recht". In dem zweistündigen Dokumentarfilm wird deutlich, wie vielseitig Gitte Haenning in über fünf Jahrzehnten war, nachdem sie bereits mit acht Jahren von ihrem Vater zum Kinderstar gemacht wurde. Immer, wenn sie ganz oben war, erfand sie sich neu: nahm Platten mit Jazzgrößen auf, spielte in Filmen, tanzte in Musicals. Wie sie im zarten Alter von 15 Jahren "Stormy Weather" singt - das macht Gänsehaut. Regisseur Marc Boettcher ("Die Bert Kaempfert Story") gelingt ein differenzierter Blick auf das Leben der Künstlerin, indem er aktuelle Aussagen mit älteren Gitte- Interviews und Statements von Eltern, ihrer Schwester, Ex-Freunden und Kollegen mixt. Mit 80, sagte Gitte einer Freundin, will sie mit einem Glas Whisky in der Hand an der Bar sitzen und "Stormy Weather" singen. Schade, dass man darauf noch 20 Jahre warten muss."

Ein berührender Film über die über 50-jährige Karriere der wandelbaren Künstlerin. Am Ende standen Gitte Tränen in den Augen: „Großartig gelungen."

„Marc Boettcher hat ganz eindeutig ein Händchen für Film- Biographien von Stars der Musikbranche, wie er eindrucksvoll mit seinem Film "Strangers in the Night" über Bert Kaempfert belegt hat, den wir Ihnen bereits vorstellen konnten. Im vergangenen Jahr legte Boettcher mit "Ich will alles" die intime Biographie einer außergewöhnlichen Sängerin vor: Gitte Hænning. Die charaktervolle, schöne und unerhört talentierte Frau aus dem dänischen Århus hat dem sensiblen Regisseur den Blick auf die gefährliche Achterbahn einer bewegten, turbulente Karriere und ihr dramatisches Leben mit allen Höhen und Tiefen gestattet - und Marc Boettcher hat ein sympathisches ehrliches Bild von Gitte Hænning gezeichnet. In etlichen für diesen Film gemachten und aus früheren Fernsehproduktionen zusammengestellten Interviews äußern sich die heute 62 Jahre alte Künstlerin, Familienmitglieder, Freunde und Kollegen sehr offen zu beiden Seiten der schimmernden Medaille. Marc Boettcher zeigt schonungslos die trotz allen scheinbaren Glanzes im Endeffekt überwiegend dunkle, beklemmende Seite. Die Frau, deren Leben hier rücksichtsvoll aufgearbeitet wird, gewinnt allerdings dabei. Sehr schnell wird deutlich, daß sich die wirkliche Begabung der Gitte Hænning nie hat entfalten dürfen, ihre späte energische Durchsetzung blieb vertragsbedingt halbherzig: es ist und war immer der Jazz, der ihre wahre Stärke war. Vom deutschen Schlagergeschäft wegen ihrer jugendlichen Frische vereinnahmt und zu ungezählten scheußlichen Tralala-Schlagern gezwungen und unter Wert vermarktet, blieb ungefördert, was sie wirklich konnte.

Frühe und rare dänische Aufnahmen von Fernsehshows, Filmausschnitte und O-Töne ihrer frühen Jahre belegen mit u.a. "Stormy Weather", "Night and Day" und dem "Basin Street Blues" was in ihr steckte: eine Jazz-Sängerin von internationalem Format. Die mehrere Jahre währende Beziehung mit dem dänischen Weltklasse-Bassisten Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen nährte die Neigung zum Jazz. Auch spätere Aufnahmen mit der Kenny Clarke/Francy Boland Big Band, mit der man sie wieder in einen deutschen Vertrag lockte, belegen ihre Jazz-Begabung. Der dänischen Kinderstar-Zeit der 50er Jahre und der deutschen Schlager-Zeit mit u.a. Rex Gildo als "Traumpartner" in den 60er Jahren folgte ein Karriereknick Anfang der 70er. Mit einer Richtungsänderung zum Chanson schaffte es die energische Sängerin in den 80ern erneut, an ihre alte Popularität und frühere Erfolge anzuknüpfen. Die Zusammenarbeit mit Andrew Lloyd Webber gab neue Impulse. 

Nach gescheiterten Ehen und Partnerschaften, beruflichen Mißerfolgen, unstetem Leben mit Wohnsitzen u.a. in Kopenhagen, München Rom, Berlin belohnten spät eine Goldene Kamera und eine Goldene Schallplatte ihr eiserner Wille, nicht aufzugeben, den eigenen Weg zu finden.“

„...Auch wenn die Nordischen Filmtage eine entschieden ernsthafte Veranstaltung sind, kann nicht geleugnet werden, dass der Besuch der äußert populären Gitte Hænning ein glamouröser Höhepunkt ist und der Kinosaal ist bis zum Bersten gefüllt. Das gut gelaunte Publikum bekommt auch etwas fürs Geld, denn Marc Boettchers knapp zwei Stunden langer Film zeigt mit Hilfe zahlreicher Interviews und Ausschnitte aus alten Dokumentarfilmen ein zugleich dynamisches und facettenreiches Bild der Sängerin, die bereits 1954 ihren Durchbruch hatte und zum Kinderstar wurde. (...) Heute könnte man sich wünschen, dass Gitte im Laufe der Zeit weniger deutsche Schlager gesungen hätte und mehr Jazz, denn der Film erinnert uns daran, was für eine hervorragende Sängerin sie eigentlich ist – z.B. in einer Szene, in der sie von Andrew Lloyd Webber selbst am Klavier begleitet wird."

„»Ich will Alles« enthüllt, dass Gitte Hænning früher eine Beziehung mit dem jetzt verstorbenen Bassisten Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen hatte, und überhaupt verbindet dieser unterhaltsame Film, der seine Hauptperson nicht nur unkritisch lobpreist, sondern sowohl ihre positiven wie ihre negativen Seiten zeigt, das Private mit dem Professionellen. Sie selbst hat damit überhaupt kein Problem, und als sie nach der Weltpremiere in Lübeck mit lang andauernden stehenden Ovationen geehrt wurde, war sie zu Tränen gerührt."

„Das Beste an „Ich will alles" sind die Szenen aus Filmen und Fernsehshows, die Boettcher ausgegraben hat. Da singt Gitte „My World Is Music", und man sieht, was für eine großartige Jazz-Performerin aus ihr hätte werden können.“

© 2021 MB-Film Deutschland